Meet Byron

Here is the latest installment in the Meet the Staff series!

Name: Byron Dover

Position: Application Developer

Meet Byron 1
How would you describe the job responsibilities and challenges of this position?
I am responsible for the maintenance and creative expansion of the CES website, CEMS web suite and related projects. In addition, I work closely with CES staff to ensure a technologically enjoyable and streamlined work environment, both on and off of the web. With an application as large as CEMS and with so many users on campus…making large changes to the web application while keeping everyone happy will likely be the most challenging part of this job.

What do you like the most about your job?
I find working on an application used so widely across campus very rewarding, but I would have to say the staff at CES has been the highlight. Working and interacting with the UC Davis CES team has been an absolute pleasure.

What is your greatest achievement outside of work?
I am very proud to be an Eagle Scout. While earning the rank wasn’t itself my greatest accomplishment, to me it symbolizes all the mountains I conquered, all of the personal challenges I overcame, and of course, most importantly, all of the knots I learned how to tie with the Boy Scouts.

What would you do if you won the lottery?
I would buy everyone working at CES a brand new Subaru WRX. Honestly, they are the best cars currently being manufactured, and I don’t understand why every car purchased isn’t a Subaru.

What are your lifelong dreams?
I would like to settle down into a teaching career one day. I am enjoying programming for a living, and will likely continue to do so for many years to come, but I have always had a love of teaching and would love to get a job passing my knowledge onto others someday.

Meet Byron 2

Isn’t Byron great? Swing by CES in MU 442 to ask him questions about coding (or StarCraft), tell him what color Subaru you want, or admire his sweet office set-up!

One comment

  1. Yay! Congrats Byron…you’re joining a great team!

Leave a Reply

